Guna, introducion of the states of mind.

Guna, introduction of the states of mind…

In this post we are going to talk about Guna.

Guna is predominant in different ways in each different state of mind. We will talk deeply about this in the next post. Let’s focus on Guna to give a little explanation to ourselves.

Guna means (dependingon the context too) quality.  We have three different Gunas that are called:

  • Tamas
  • Rajas
  • Sattva

Each of this Guna manifests in different way.

Tamas: is the quality of imbalance, disorder, chaos, anxiety. impure, destructive, delusion, negative, dull or inactive, apathy, inertia or lethargy, violent, vicious, ignorant.

Rajas: is the quality of passion, activity, neither good nor bad and sometimes either. self-centeredness, egoistic, individualizing, driven, moving, dynamic.

Sattva: is the quality of balance, harmony, goodness, purity. universalizing, holistic, constructive, creative, building, positive, peaceful, virtuous.

In the Baghvad Gita is possible to see this explanation by reading:

  • Sattva In B.G. 14.6
  • Rajas In B.G 14.7
  • Tamas in B.G. 14.8

Hence, depends on which Guna is predominant in our self, we are going to have a different state of mind.

The 5 different states of mind are:

  • Restless Mind
  • Infatuated Mind
  • Distracted Mind
  • One-Pointed Mind
  • Suspended Mind

Try to guess your Guna to see which type of mind you have. In the next post I will explain deeply  the difference between minds and how to balance them.

A Yoga Teacher with the passion of Calisthenics. I've been studying Yoga in India and I got the 200Hr Certificate as Ashtanga Teacher. I have been curious always about free body workout and now I have abandoned weight already 4 years.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

%d bloggers like this: