Ashtanga Yoga Talking: Nyama

Ashtanga Yoga Talking: Nyama, the discipline of a Yogi.

Nyama as the Yama is divided into 5 different branch that explained the Discipline of a Yogi. This Nyama are also indicated in the Yoga Sutra of Petanjalim.

1.    Shauca (Cleanliness)

      Shauca is the first of the Nyama that has a very important impact on our daily life. It talks about cleanliness internally and externally.  Is a must as a Yogi to keep your body always clean. Since the morning is very necessary to start a process of clensing that each Yogi should do. Starting from get your bowel done, showering, brushing teeth and tongue and also practicing some Kryas (internal clensing). This actions will make your body not just smell good but also it gives the perfect environment to get into a better learning process within yourself and toward other people.  Is also important to keep your environment clean and in good condition. This is a good way of organize your ideas and keep yourself a discipline about cleaning and value the environment that you have around you.

2.    Santosha ( Contentment)

      Being contented with what you have is a way of accept also the Self. The contentment it will lead you to accept the happiness with the thing that you have around you and won’t feel any attachment to them. Being contented it also make the Yogi more happy and enjoy each little thing that the world in terms of nature offers every day.

To be a Yogi, we shall follow this simple rules…

3.    Tapas (Discipline)

      Tapas is the discipline that we shall have in the practice of Yoga. If we are disciplined in the practice of Yoga, we will be automatically disciplined in our daily life. Discipline is hard to achieve and it takes effort and sacrifice in the beginning of choosing this path. Once we start understand how discipline make the Self more balance and healthy for our digestive system, mental state and emotional state,  we will slowly walk toward this path more deeply.  Discipline start from following the first Yama, This is where the starting point is.

4.    Svadhyaya ( Self Study)

      If we have discipline then we will can practice this Nyama. Self-Study is what give us the freedom of understanding the Self and most of all our surroundings. In this Nyama we indicate self-study not just studying books but also chanting mantras, practicing meditation, mudras. All of this will make us see things in the actual way in a non-distorting mirror.

5.    Ishvarapranidhana ( Surrender to the Lord)

      This is the most powerful tool we can have to achieve a balanced Self. We shall understand that something bigger is around us and over us. By surrender to this idea, we can acknowledge the fact the God is within ourselves and we are one thing together with God.  By praying, chanting, devote our time to surrender for this it will make us feel more humble, more acknowledge person and it will help the discipline to overcome anything that won’t lead us to the right way of living.

A Yoga Teacher with the passion of Calisthenics. I've been studying Yoga in India and I got the 200Hr Certificate as Ashtanga Teacher. I have been curious always about free body workout and now I have abandoned weight already 4 years.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

%d bloggers like this: